Kyle King Room
They Kyle Room is an enormous open floorplan room with King-sized bed, large separate seating area, desk, and in-room table. We call it a “room” since it is all one “L-shaped” area, but the secret is that it really is more like a suite! It is located on the main floor of the North guest building. It is the perfect way to experience a Romantic Hill Country Inn at its finest. This ground floor, barrier-free room also has a tub for two, separate shower, and a private deck with north views into the two-thousand acre uninhabited Austin Open Space. It is a great place to spread out while still feeling together. Additional room amenities include satellite TV, DVD/VCR player, wireless Internet access, in-room fridge stocked with a selection of complimentary Texas beverages including locally bottled water, sodas and sparkling water.
Fergus Kyle served with the Texas Rangers and later was a Confederate soldier during the Civil War, advancing to the rank of Captain after the Battle of Shiloh.Kyle was a farmer and stock raiser following the war and decided to follow his father’s footsteps by entering the political scene. He was first elected to the 12th Legislature of the State. During the 17th and 18th Legislatures he served as Sergeant-at-Arms. Kyle is best remembered for his co-sponsorship of the bill which resulted in the purchase of the Alamo by the State.
Kyle married Anna Elizabeth Moore in 1860, and they had nine children. Kyle and his wife’s family sold a total of 200 acres to the I&GN Railroad Company for the sum of $1 to build a town which bears his name. Fergus Kyle was described as a colorful and picturesque figure, standing 6’2″ in height. He always wore Confederate gray with his trousers tucked into his boots. On his lapel he wore the picture of Andrew Jackson. This picture was taken from the locket given by “Old Hickory” to his father, Colonel Claiborne. Kyle’s boyhood home, known as the Kyle Log House, built in 1850 and restored in 1982, can still be seen on Stagecoach Road southwest of Kyle on the banks of the Blanco River. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is believed to be the last remaining example of a “linear dogtrot, four-pen house” in Texas.
On May 19, 1906, Texas papers carried the following headlines: “Pioneer Passes to Majority” “Captain Ferg Kyle is Dead” “He Obeyed the Last Order of Stonewall Jackson” Captain Kyle was buried in the family plot in the Kyle Cemetery.
Hartson King Room
Our newest room, the Hartson King Room is located on the second floor with a sweeping view of Hill Country.
Thelma's King Loft
Newly Remodeled King Suite with tons of light, rain-shower, high-ceilings, separate seating area, two flat-screen HDTV's.