Schlemmer Two Queens
This large, charming third floor room offers two queen-sized beds plus a large sitting area and galley kitchen. The private bath has an antique clawfoot tub and large separate walk-in shower. It is a great place for a couple that wants to spread out or has an extra guest in the other queen bed. There is a fireplace, a small private balcony and of course it comes with all of our standard amenities like satellite TV, DVD/VCR player, wireless Internet access, and a selection of complimentary Texas beverages including locally bottled water, sodas and sparkling water.
Nicholas C. Schlemmer, a station agent in New Braunfels, was appointed first postmaster of Kyle in 1880. He refused the appointment upon seeing the town. William E. Roach of Mountain City accepted the appointment. A year later, Roach officially appointed Schlemmer, who accepted this time. Schlemmer’s time in Kyle included other business endeavors. In 1884 Schlemmer’s Store was opened in a wooden shack on Center Avenue (now Center St.)
In 1885 he rented a large rock storefront on Front Street where the post office was located, and the small grocery became a general merchandise store. In 1890 he built the large rock building on Center Street and changed the name to Schlemmer Mercantile Co. In 1889 he married; four children were born in Kyle where the Schlemmers resided until 1904 when he entered the American Consular Service in Europe. N.C.’s brother, Louis, became manager of the store. It is the present location of Tenorio’s Cash Grocery, which is called Center Grocery as of this date, located at 110 W. Center St. L.C. , N.C.’s brother, purchased the first car in Kyle, a Buick, according to the Kyle News of April 20, 1928.